A Message to Our Members

Today is the day.  There are now 14 of us in total and I’m happy with that number, not too big and not too small.

The first work for critique will go up in a few minutes.  We’ve decided to do rarasaur’s first because we have the distinct feeling there are going to be some kinks in the system.  We want everyone to get the most out of their critiques, so hopefully after this first one we’ll get the flow down.

As a reminder the next critique will go up on the 30th.

Some suggestions and notes:

When you enter the password to view the work, for me at least, it kept the post open.  So I could go back to the post without entering the password and it showed a brief description on the main blog page.  I was worried that somehow the entire world could see and checked through my secondary browse.  It was still locked.

You may want to email subscribe to the comments for each work or check back on a regular basis.

12 responses to “A Message to Our Members

  1. When I input the password the first time, I’ve been able to get in without typing it again.
    Might I ask for some clarification? When I first went into the DorD page, I saw a number of drafts. When I added my own, that’s all I see now. Is this correct? Please and thanks.

    • Yes, for some reason once you enter the password you don’t have to do it again. Thats normal, and I’ve verified the posts are still hidden to outsiders.

      As for the drafts issue, I’m not sure what is going on. Are you saying you can only see your own draft? I see multiple drafts, but that may because I have admin privileges.

      • That’s correct. I see only my own…
        So I’m no clear what will be happening on the 30th, I’ve only had access to the first story by Rarasaur and have been twiddling my thumbs in the meantime. Will a new second string of submission happen?

    • We scheduled the posts 2 weeks apart. If we get a few members, or find that we’re chugging through them faster than we thought, we might shorten that time frame… but as it is, we only had 4 days left on the clock by the time the members chimed into our test run (my post– which is shorter, as far as the other submissions go). We don’t want to run two simultaneously until everyone gets the groove of things to make sure everyone gets the full benefit of a full edit/review.

      If for some reason your piece needs immediate editing, you can let Dave know and he’ll rearrange scheduling with someone who is sooner on the list. 🙂 I hope that explains it!

Leave a Reply

